The Sixth by Avery Hays

Title: The Sixth
Author: Avery Hays

Genre: Fiction (Historical / France / Paris / 1910s / Artists / Historical Figures Fictionalized / Political Intrigue / Secret Organizations)
Publisher/Publication Date: Diadema Press (10/31/2013)
Source: NetGalley / the publisher

Rating: Okay to liked.
Did I finish?: I did!
One-sentence summary: In 1910, Florbela Sarmentos, a Portuguese expat with a classical training in painting, moves to Paris' infamous sixth arrondissement where she finds love, scandal, political intrigue, murder, friendship, and mayhem.
Reading Challenges: Historical Fiction, Immigrant Stories

Do I like the cover?: Adore it -- captures the feel of the story -- if it were a print, I'd want it in my house!

I'm reminded of...: Donna Russo Morin, Kate Mosse

First line: On the fifth of April in the spring of my twenty-first year, all the world was turning nervous eyes toward my native Portugal, gazing aghast as she teetered giddily between the abyss of anarchy on the one hand, and that of totalitarianism on the other.

Buy, Borrow, or Avoid?: Borrow or buy if you like novels set in Paris,

Why did I get this book?: Love early 20th century Paris.

Review: Set in 1910 Paris, The Sixth is a romantic adventure historical novel, in the vein of Donna Russo Morin or Kate Mosse (or perhaps Dan Brown or Steve Berry, without the contemporary parts), featuring artwork encoded with ciphers, Freemasons, expats, romantic entanglements, attempted murders, and political intrigue.

Fresh from her classical arts training in England, twenty-one-year old Florbela Sarmentos arrives in Paris with the address of an artists boarding house. Her father, a famed Portuguese writer, is a political prisoner at the hands of Portugal's infamous King Manuel II, and immediately upon her arrival at La Ruche, she is thrown into chaos, drama, and danger. Her new neighbors include artists Diego Rivera, Angelina Beloff, Amadeo Modigliani, and exiled politico Vladimir Lenin; her new roommate is a waifish and odd teenaged sculptor. Waiting for her are two revolutionaries acting as messengers for Florbela's father, with a message from him: an assassin is out for her, and she must seek out a British Freemason to help her, and thus, him.

While there's a sense of everything-but-the-kitchen-sink in terms of plot at the start, the story settles down from breakneck to simply racing, populated with a wild cast of characters familiar to those who enjoy modern art and narrated by a loyal, wide-eyed young woman.

The opening sentence -- On the fifth of April in the spring of my twenty-first year, all the world was turning nervous eyes toward my native Portugal, gazing aghast as she teetered giddily between the abyss of anarchy on the one hand, and that of totalitarianism on the other. -- gives a taste of Hays' writing style which was reminiscent to me of some Victorian-ish literature: a little ornate, a little wordy, very melodramatic. Our narrator Florbela is remarkably innocent, protected by guardians most of her life, and her account of the events are touched with wonder, determination, and optimism.

There were moments when I found the book veered a little into Mary Sue territory, as Florbela is credited with styling Russian painter Moishe Shagalov as Marc Chagall while painter Fernand Léger is among her impassioned, devoted suitors. Still, I was charmed by her, and the narrative style felt 'true' to Florbela's character. She, thankfully, doesn't go from innocent to vamp in a matter of chapters, but remains a composed young woman plunged into a froth of decadence and danger.

On her website, Hays has a letter written by Florbela from the 1960s that acts as a kind of Afterword, which I enjoyed, but the novel doesn't lack anything by its lack of inclusion, and readers are left with a nice, satisfying (if not dramatic) conclusion.

*** *** ***

GIVEAWAY!

The publisher has generously given me a hardcover copy of The Sixth to offer to one lucky reader! To enter, fill out this brief form. Open to US and international readers, ends 11/22.

Comments

  1. I really like the premise of this novel and your description of it. I can't say I'm too familiar with modern art, so those references would probably fly right over my head. Still, this sounds like an enjoyable book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I googled the painters as they were mentioned to see what their art looked like, and that helped, although the author does have the character describe what they're seeing and explain a bit why it is so radical, etc. So it doesn't totally leave the reader feeling isolated. I'm always a fan of novels about art and this one satisfied -- reminded me a bit of a painter-y kind of Midnight in Paris (without the guy from the future).

      Delete
  2. I love drama, expats, artwork encoded with ciphers, attempted murders, political intrigue, and you know I love freemasons!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will not be disappointed then!

      Delete
  3. Always interesting to know about books about a Portuguese character/history written by a non-Portuguese. I've shared the link to this review to other Portuguese friends who also might be interested in giving this one a try. Thanks for flagging!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, hooray! Very glad to have (unintentionally) helped! Will be curious to see how those who are passionate about Portuguese history will feel about it all!

      Delete
  4. This sounds really good, and I love the cover!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I looooooooooooooove the cover. It's so perfect!

      Delete
  5. I love the cover too. This sounds perfect for me. While the year is winding up, I've been delving more into Portuguese-related stories to check out what's out there...since part of my family is Portuguese

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was shamefully unaware of the tumult in Portugal at this time and am very intrigued now! Hope you enjoy this one if you get to read it!

      Delete
  6. The cover really is beautiful! I'd hang it on my wall too :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great review! Must add to my TBR list. Reminds me a bit of The Time in Between, by María Dueñas.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This is a new one for me! Thanks for linking up to the Immigrant Stories Challenge!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Book Review & Giveaway: The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

Winter 2017 Bloggiesta To Do Post

The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin

Book Review & Giveaway: Lost Boy by Christina Henry